Everyday Heroes

Act as if what you do makes a difference. It does.

William James

No one knows what any moment will bring. That became very clear this week. We all have our routines: Get up, go to work, come home, go to bed, and do it all over the next day. However, there are those moments when something happens outside of our daily routine. Ever decision we make effects those around us.

My mother is known for jumping into a swimming pool in her jeans and t-shirt when a friend’s child fell in. She is known to gallop on horseback to push me back up on the horse I was falling off of. She has run down the street partially clothed to make sure I was alive after being hit by a car. She has kept an eye on my dad to make sure he doesn’t pass out from having low blood sugars in the middle of the night. She is an everyday hero.

This week I tapped into a family trait of jumping into action when those around us may be in danger. I got off the light rail on Monday focus on the thought that this was the first week of shadowing for my new job. I listened to my tunes while waiting for the cross walk sign to change. All of sudden another light rail was coming my way on the right. I looked to the left of me and a lady was standing on the tracks listening to her tunes ignoring the blasting honking of the train as it was hurling towards her to the stop. I waited a moment thinking maybe she would finally turn around to notice the train, but as the train came closer and closer it become evident that was not the case. It became evident that either I moved the lady or else. I know enough to know that a human can not take on a train.

I yelled, “train, move”, but I hardly heard myself. I leapt and grabbed her and pulled her back. I braced myself to be hit so I moved my head out of the head as I grabbed her around the waist. It only took a split second. The train came past us and the driver pointed to his ears indicating that possibly he was not a fan of headphones. The lady looked at me and in a apathetic tone said, “oh sorry.” She didn’t even see the train go past her. She assumed she just fell backwards into me.

Moral: 1) Never stand on the tracks. 2) Always be alert. 3) Everyone, even a Lady of Scotland, has a chance to be a hero to someone in someway.

Feel free to share your stories in the comments below or email zsmisadventures@gmail.com and your story may be in an upcoming blog.

One thought on “Everyday Heroes

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.